Subroutine for replacing special chars not run in menues

Feel free to post bug reports here. I need exact, detailed steps showing me how I can re-create the bug on my machine, so give as much info and detail as possible.
Post Reply
DeusExMachina
Posts: 1285
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2008 9:57 am
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Contact:

Subroutine for replacing special chars not run in menues

Post by DeusExMachina »

Songs with special chars show up in the alternate track popup with the dummy character instead of the canonical char.

dave
Site Admin
Posts: 6395
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2005 8:02 am
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: Subroutine for replacing special chars not run in menues

Post by dave »

screen shot?

DeusExMachina
Posts: 1285
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2008 9:57 am
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Contact:

Re: Subroutine for replacing special chars not run in menues

Post by DeusExMachina »

Like "Party in the U.S.A." shows up in the popup as "Party in the U.S.A_".
Last edited by DeusExMachina on Thu Dec 10, 2015 8:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

dave
Site Admin
Posts: 6395
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2005 8:02 am
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: Subroutine for replacing special chars not run in menues

Post by dave »

no, really, post a screen shot. i'm still not sure what you mean by "alternate track popup" and the screen shot would clarify

DeusExMachina
Posts: 1285
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2008 9:57 am
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Contact:

Re: Subroutine for replacing special chars not run in menues

Post by DeusExMachina »

When you are in the kJRotation, and you select the popup in the song field that allows you to select an alternate track from their tonight list.
Tried it in my machine and it didn't happen, so I couldn't post a pic.
So I think it is due to that machine using my library on a fresh import. So all those file names have been changed to conform to kJams' reserved character rules, but on importing them fresh into that library, they are seen as having the replaced chars, not the original ones.

dave
Site Admin
Posts: 6395
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2005 8:02 am
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: Subroutine for replacing special chars not run in menues

Post by dave »

okay, the terminology was throwing me off.

You're talking about the "Switchable Songs" popup.
and, i realize nobody else knows this, but the strings with weird/reserved characters are in "recoverable" mode, while the ones with correct characters are called "recovered".

so can you translate this into a list of steps, starting from scratch, start to finish, to repro the bug?

DeusExMachina
Posts: 1285
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2008 9:57 am
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Contact:

Re: Subroutine for replacing special chars not run in menues

Post by DeusExMachina »

Unfortunately, not really. I "gave" them my library, since I will be running their nights now. Previously set them up with a new copy of kJams Pro. So imported that library into their system (as opposed to copying my database, and the headaches that entails, and while I was running a night, noticed that a song in the popup with a terminal period in the name (U.S.A.) was popping up with the period replaced (U.S.A_).

dave
Site Admin
Posts: 6395
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2005 8:02 am
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: Subroutine for replacing special chars not run in menues

Post by dave »

so, i think you're saying "i can no longer reproduce the problem" ?
so, yeah, if you can't repro it, then you can't describe to me how i can repro it, so that means it's not something i can fix.
i can only fix a bug i can see.

Post Reply