Crashes when importing SuperCDG discs

Feel free to post bug reports here. I need exact, detailed steps showing me how I can re-create the bug on my machine, so give as much info and detail as possible.
reddroki

Crashes when importing SuperCDG discs

Post by reddroki »

Hi Dave,

Please forgive my posting as I'm not good at expressing this kind of info being just kind-of computer literate.

I'm using a Macbook Pro 13.3"' 4GB purchased 9 days ago. It has nothing extra on it but Kjams. At first, KJams would crash if we edited the meta data on the SCDG before ripping, so we would edit after ripping. This worked better (less crashes) so I carried on for another 40 discs or so. We then read the post regarding duplicate song title/artist combinations from the same disc. I then audited the 40 discs to ensure the duplicates were deleted from the library and re-ripped from the SCDG. The last two days have been real slow going due to constant crashing. I'm concerned about my database integrity and other problems going forward as I have another 27 SCDG to go.

I would launch Kjams and insert the disc. I would select all of the songs and drag them to the library. Kjams would start to rip the disc and then stop about 1/4 of the way into the rip. It would appear to be finished but I would look in the library and find it had only entered about 1/4 of the songs I had selected. I would then eject the disc and re-enter it and then Kjams would crash.

I would then restart the Kjams program and try to read the disc again. It would get part way through the rip and then stop again. Sometimes it would partially read and then stop or (mostly) I would get the spinning ball and have to force quit the program and power off the computer because it was stuck trying to read the disc. I don't think it's the media as these are my original SCDG's (or the original burns) and have barely been used. After numerous attempts to rip these it would eventually read them but it was frustrating.