Question about Kjams on PC

Just talk about kJams stuff with each other, describe things you did that worked, talk about your setup, anything that doesn't fit into the other forums!
Post Reply
Brendan
Posts: 424
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 1:05 pm
Location: Vacaville, CA.

Question about Kjams on PC

Post by Brendan » Wed Oct 10, 2018 9:39 am

I have been using Kjams for years now. It has always performed above expectations. My Macbook pro is on its last legs and I need to upgrade but a new mac is not in the budget right now. I am considering buying a PC for Kjams and other things. Any recommendations on a PC? Is Kjams working as well as on Macs? Is the functionality the same across the platforms once I'm set up ?

User avatar
dave
Site Admin
Posts: 6373
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2005 8:02 am
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: Question about Kjams on PC

Post by dave » Mon Oct 22, 2018 11:11 am

the functionality is identical, but the performance isn't quite as good. so be sure to get 8-16 Gigs of RAM, and at LEAST a high end quad-core with hyperthreading. speed will be your friend. optional: an SSD for fast database saves and launching. honestly it performs better on mac ( macOS seems to have a much smoother thread management sub-system) so you'll still get better performance on a used mac that is slightly older. (not more than a couple years)

Brendan
Posts: 424
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 1:05 pm
Location: Vacaville, CA.

Re: Question about Kjams on PC

Post by Brendan » Sun Mar 17, 2019 5:48 pm

ok, fast forward, I bought a new macbook pro :) Now my question is; Do i need an activation code from you to enter on the new machine?

User avatar
dave
Site Admin
Posts: 6373
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2005 8:02 am
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: Question about Kjams on PC

Post by dave » Wed Mar 20, 2019 11:11 am


Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests